Michelle Sekowski is counsel in Herrick's Litigation Department, where she concentrates her practice on complex commercial and general litigation. At Herrick, Michelle has litigated a broad range of matters in federal and state courts, including contract, intellectual property, commercial real estate, product liability, consumer fraud, employment, and estate disputes.

Prior to joining Herrick, Michelle was an associate at Boies, Schiller & Flexner LLP, where she focused on complex commercial litigation and served on the trial team that successfully defended a prominent investment bank in a $13 billion matter arising out of the most recent global economic crisis. She began her career at Greenbaum, Rowe, Smith & Davis LLP, where she was a member of the Litigation Department and the Employment Law Practice Group.

Michelle received her J.D., with honors, from Emory University School of Law. During law school, she was elected to the Order of the Coif, was a Notes and Comments Editor of the Emory International Law Review, and served as a judicial intern to the Honorable P. Harris Hines of the Supreme Court of Georgia. Michelle received her undergraduate degree, cum laude, from the University of Richmond.

Michelle serves on the Board of Directors of the New Jersey Women Lawyers Association, as a Barrister in the John C. Lifland American Inn of Court, and as a member of the Alumni Recruitment Committee for the University of Richmond. Michelle was recently appointed by the New Jersey Supreme Court to its Advisory Committee on Outside Activities of Judiciary Employees. In her spare time, Michelle is an active volunteer for the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation, Greater New Jersey Chapter, which in 2014 honored her as one of New Jersey's "Finest Young Professionals." She also teaches Electronic Discovery as an Adjunct Professor at Rutgers Law School in Newark, New Jersey.

Memberships & Associations

  • Barrister, John C. Lifland Inn of Court
  • Director, New Jersey Women Lawyers Association
  • Junior League of Monmouth County
  • Herrick’s Diversity Committee